This year, I had my first opportunity to go to Japan and train at Bujinkan Hombu Dojo (headquarter of Budo Taijutsu). Of course, everyone who trains Budo Taijutsu would like to meet Soke (宗家, inheritor of the tradition) someday. Not only because he is the grandmaster, but also because he is unique. Talking with some people who train other Japanese martial arts (with other Sokes), they agree with me that Hatsumi Sensei is unique, a different one. So, how was it? Japan is amazing place with an amazing history and culture. In Brazil is common to think that Japan is all about discipline in a sense, but I felt people so humane, conscious, so adaptable and proactive that I could not see this at all.  I started going there without any instruction, but some tips for training (apart from the internet), discovering most part there. For sure, it was amazing!

Hatsumi Sensei and Pedro Henrique at Bujinkan Hombu Dojo in 2013
Hatsumi Sensei and Pedro Henrique at Bujinkan Hombu Dojo in 2013

Before training with Hatsumi Soke, I was in Bujinkan Zeropoint Dojo (what I definitely recommend you), Nagato Sensei, and Noguchi Sensei class. First of all, I was dazzled! First, because for all of us from other countries (and that have never been there) is a dream coming true. Second, because I watched many of these guys who train at Hombu Dojo in videos for long time, and then they are there teaching or training with me which is another dream coming true! For me, all of them teach in different way, despite the essence which is the same. It is amazing, because you can train completely different aspects of your Taijutsu and review your basics. Nagato Sensei moved like a dancer in a distance which is possible drawing weapons and control next step. While Noguchi Sensei moved directly to the opponent, he was teaching Jin Ryaku no Maki (人略の巻 , man strategy scroll). Of course, this is just an overview, there are much more to think about and train. One thing that I learned is that, nowadays, they train very freely. This kind of freedom attracted a decade ago and it is very important for enhance Taijutsu.

Noguchi Sensei and Pedro Henrique at Bujinkan Hombu Dojo in 2013
Noguchi Sensei and Pedro Henrique at Bujinkan Hombu Dojo in 2013
Noguchi Sensei and Pedro Henrique at Bujinkan Hombu Dojo in 2013
Noguchi Sensei and Pedro Henrique at Bujinkan Hombu Dojo in 2013
Shiraishi Sensei and Pedro Henrique at Bujinkan Hombu Dojo in 2013
Shiraishi Sensei and Pedro Henrique at Bujinkan Hombu Dojo in 2013

I spend most of time in training and visiting different dojos. It was the main goal of this trip. I met very good places to training there beside hombu dojo.  I was at Bujinkan Zeropoint Dojo of Rob Renner Shihan, Toku Bu Ryu Sui Bujinkan Dojo (徳武流水武神館武道道場) of Duncan Stewart Shihan, and Shiraishi Sensei Dojo. I highly recommend you!! In my opinion, it was a very blessed opportunity. Not only for meeting Hatsumi Sensei, but also for connect to this energy, discovery many things about Bujinkan and me on this path. So, many people supported me… It could be impossible for me to go there without support! First of all, I have to thanks to all of my family for the support in many senses. Other people, such as: Greg Shidoshi (my teacher), Simão Freitas Shidoshi (a great friend) for teachings and tips along the way, Francine Shihan and Bernard Shihan from Canada for all your support and kindness (you are part of this dream that came true, thank you so much!), Rob Renner Shihan, Marcus Brock, and Levi Hanson for all teachings and support for everything, without your help I could not harness this trip, Duncan Stewart Shihan for your amazing Budo teachings and tips, Shiraishi Sensei and Marcelo Ramirez Shihan for all your kindness, support, training tips, everything, Amiiru Higashi, and all my training partners as Jason, Ted and his teacher, Sasha, and others. Thank you also Hendrik Lindelauf for all of your support, my brother! There are also, so many people to thanks… All of you were awesome! Thank you very much!

Pedro Henrique, Bernard Shihan and Francine Shihan from Canada in Japan, 2013
Pedro Henrique, Bernard Shihan and Francine Shihan from Canada in Japan, 2013
At Bujinkan Zeorpoint Dojo in Japan, 2013
At Bujinkan Zeorpoint Dojo in Japan, 2013
Marcelo Shihan and Pedro Henrique at Bujinkan Hombu Dojo in 2013
Marcelo Shihan and Pedro Henrique at Bujinkan Hombu Dojo in 2013
At Toku Bu Ryu Sui Bujinkan Dojo in Japan, 2013
At Toku Bu Ryu Sui Bujinkan Dojo in Japan, 2013
Hatsumi Sensei, Amiiru Shihan and Kenshin, Rob Renner Shihan and Pedro Henrique at Bujinkan Hombu Dojo in 2013
Hatsumi Sensei, Amiiru Shihan and Kenshin, Rob Renner Shihan and Pedro Henrique at Bujinkan Hombu Dojo in 2013

Finally, I had the opportunity to practice Tameshi Giri (試切, cut test with Japanese sword) and learn more of swords with my brother Hendrik Lindelauf, visit some places, such as: Japanese sword museum, and experienced the Sakki Test. However, I will talk about this in other posts.

Hendrik Lindelauf preparing tatami mats  for cut (curling, water etc)
Hendrik Lindelauf preparing tatami mats for cut (curling, water etc)

武風一貫 (Bufu Ikkan)

