Taikai in Rio 2013 with Daniel Hernádez Shihan
Taikai in Rio 2013 with Daniel Hernádez Shihan

Frequently, teachers around the world invite other teachers (organizing big events) for practitioners in order to make an easy access to high-level understanding of Budo for students. Taikai is one of these events, it started when Soke was traveling around the world. Nowadays, Jugodans (15th dans) are doing it, because Hatsumi Sensei does not travel anymore. We organize Taikai In Rio 2013 that happens every year in Rio de Janeiro (Brazil). This year, Daniel Hernández Shihan shared with us his understanding of Tsurugi fighting techniques and unarmed fighting techniques.

Taikai in Rio 2013 with Daniel Hernádez Shihan
Taikai in Rio 2013 with Daniel Hernádez Shihan

Tsurugi is a very special sword that was never used by Samurais or Ninjas, and it is not a part of the schools inherited by Soke. When I was in Japan, Nagato Sensei explained that we were studying based on anthropology, and focus to connect to gods. So, the idea is to use common techniques adapted to it in order to give it life. All the Kihon (基本, basics) can be applied to start.

Many people attended from several states of the country, and from Argentine also. This kind of event is very nice to meet people that you know from abroad or other states. It was wonderful! I met many of my students of other states and buyus!

Taikai in Rio 2013 with Daniel Hernádez Shihan
Taikai in Rio 2013 with Daniel Hernádez Shihan
Taikai in Rio 2013 with Daniel Hernádez Shihan
Taikai in Rio 2013 with Daniel Hernádez Shihan
Taikai in Rio 2013 with Daniel Hernádez Shihan
Emanuel from ES (Brazil) at Taikai in Rio 2013 with Daniel Hernádez Shihan
Taikai in Rio 2013 with Daniel Hernádez Shihan
Paulo Mesquita from CE (Brazil) e Cassiano Santos from MG (Brazil) at Taikai in Rio 2013 with Daniel Hernádez Shihan
Taikai in Rio 2013 with Daniel Hernádez Shihan
Silvina Quiroga and Gonzalo Ronda from Argentine at Taikai in Rio 2013 with Daniel Hernádez Shihan
Taikai in Rio 2013 with Daniel Hernádez Shihan
Showing what I learnt about Kicks + Tsurugi at Taikai in Rio 2013 with Daniel Hernádez Shihan

In the end, I was invited by Shihan to tell my story, and what happened in Japan when I was there. He asked me to share more about my experiences in my go dan tests (5th dan). I had the opportunity to share for everyone my feelings, my failures, my development, and several experiences. It was great! I think it would be at Taikai in Rio 2013 DVD, but I don’t know yet.

Telling my story, what happened in Japan, my go dan test (5th dan) experiences etc
Telling my story, what happened in Japan, my go dan test (5th dan) experiences etc

See you next Taikai in Rio, It was wonderful!

