Jigoku and Gokuraku studies

After the beginning class with all of teachers, our group waited at room to attend a class with Peter King Dai Shihan. This class was in the biggest dojo that was divided in two (separated by a curtain) for Pedro and Peter. Then, our adventure between Hell (地獄, Jigoku) and Paradise (極楽, Gokuraku) started. At that moment, class began with Musha Dōri. Peter started giving us many insights to catch opponents in a proper fashion.

Before doing Musha Dōri, he was showing us some movements to setting up it. It fits better than just moving your arm around opponents’ arm. In my view, setting it up is very important. Beside that, we don’t practice at the beginning, but it is important spend time to it when it’s possible, in many cases we stimulate our opponent in a way that he/she can be caught.

The way that Peter teaches is very didactic. It was my second opportunity to learn from him. By the way, my impression at this Taikai is that all of them are very didactic. Of course, it depends on many things, but I’m mean based on that experience. During the class, we were brought step-by-step to the end of the technique. Every trying he gave us more insights about: distance, fitting, and pivoting, until the moment dedicated to Hell and Paradise principles.

Jigoku and Gokuraku studies

For me, it was a fantastic opportunity to see many details, and work on many gaps I had! Angling was covered too, and I could found many inappropriate movements I did when I was executing what he proposed. So, those angling principles, and “fit” tips were very interesting! Every gap and, of course, every solution for these gaps is a building block for our Taijutsu.

The way he fitted many techniques reminds me “Awaseru” principle, something I have to go more deeply… Many of his tips were of elbow positioning, and its positioning is very depended of body positioning itself. While fitting, and leveraging, Peter brought us some hits, and surprises.

More explanation of this theme (Jigoku and Gokuraku) can be found at Ten Chi Jin Ryaku no Maki (Hatsumi Sensei’s Book).

Pedro Henrique
2015

