Pedro Fleitas Dai Shihan. Portugal Taikai 2015 (Pedro Fleitas). Picture: Raquel Lavado.
Pedro Fleitas Dai Shihan. Portugal Taikai 2015 (Pedro Fleitas). Picture: Raquel Lavado.

We had a great learning opportunity in Portugal weeks ago, Portugal Taikai 2015 with Pedro Fleitas Dai Shihan. On first day, I was a little bit late because I came from far, it happened in Lisbon and I’m living at least two hour far there. It was a great opportunity to learn: Tanbo Jutsu, Kusari Jutsu, and Takagi Yoshin Ryu through his understanding and inspiration.

Before that, I met Pedro at Paris Taikai 2015, so I could taste a little bit of his techniques with Tanbo, and Kusari. That’s why I was very exciting to practice it, and add these features to my repertory. Through this adventure of being close to so many experienced teachers of Budo Taijutsu, I’m learning a lot. More than techniques, I’m studying their way of thinking, and how they feel things. In my view, this is very important. It was not different.

Pedro Fleitas Dai Shihan teaching. Portugal Taikai 2015. Picture: Raquel Lavado.
Pedro Fleitas Dai Shihan teaching. Portugal Taikai 2015. Picture: Raquel Lavado.

Everybody has a different view of the world. It is also the case in Budo Taijutsu. Despite all differences, we can see easily that there is a connection between these experienced teachers’ views, in the core I mean. Not only in terms of way of thinking, but their taijutsu too. When we study Ten Chi Jin Ryaku no Maki, and other tools of Budo Taijutsu, we see these connections clearly. I also feel this connection they have as a very strong connection with I saw in Japan, when I was there.   That’s what is inspiring me to go these events here.

This post is dedicated to Kizushi, exactly, not Kuzushi. What we saw there, I can’t describe it, the same way I couldn’t do it to Paris Taikai 2015. What I can do is share some ideas, and my own understanding of what happened there (which will evolve in the future, and change, probably). So, basically, Pedro enjoyed floating in the space while walks on Kukan with his tools. He opened space, creating many illusions to his Ukes, and then “boom” things happened. He talked a little about Kizushi, saying that we should control Uke’s Ki, like Kuzushi. Shifting his internal “Balance”.

[Ki]zushi. Portugal Taikai 2015. Picture: Raquel Lavado.
[Ki]zushi. Portugal Taikai 2015. Picture: Raquel Lavado.
Portugal Taikai 2015. Picture: Raquel Lavado.
Portugal Taikai 2015. Picture: Raquel Lavado.

Of course, it is not a technique, but without proper words, we could say: a kind of “setup technique” + “after technique” (before and after technique). It is complicated to explain in words. I saw many of those “setup techniques” in Paris Taikai too. This gives us many advantages on timing, space, and movement while dealing to opponents. While he was doing to me, I felt myself very confused in terms of reaction. He created many illusions where I felt myself able to react, but milliseconds later my reality was completely broken. So, I hope to be able share it with my students one day.

Portugal Taikai 2015. Picture: Raquel Lavado.
Portugal Taikai 2015. Picture: Raquel Lavado.
Portugal Taikai 2015. Picture: Raquel Lavado.
Portugal Taikai 2015. Picture: Raquel Lavado.

I would like to thanks to Pedro Fleitas Dai Shihan for share with us Hatsumi Sensei’s teachings, and his teachings, and also for the very nice gift he gave me after Taikai! I also would like to thanks to all of his students for their very nice hospitality, and support in everything there. I’m not mentioning names because I’d like to avoid forget someone which could be unfair. Really, thank you very much! It was a fantastic experience!

武風一貫
(Bufu Ikkan)

Pedro Henrique
2015

