I’ve been learning a lot, since 3 years ago. I’m still in this wonderful period of being surprised several times. It’s a very intense moment, I’m not talking about the opportunity of training in several different conditions, but also life itself. So many new things, so short “space-time” to deal with it. Training is part of all this, of course. I always like to thanks God/Universe, family, friends, buyu, teachers and students, I mean, everyone involved in this period of my life. My readers are also part of it, I want to express my appreciation too.

Particularly, I’m having opportunities to practice and learn from many teachers of philosophy, religion/spiritual systems, and arts. Nowadays, internationally. It’s wonderful to be open to meet these several forms of expression or perspectives of reality, isn’t it? There is an ancient teaching that permeates all of them to the point of being impossible to track the origin, it is said that everything, absolutely EVERYTHING that happens in our lives is for our wellness ultimately. Good or apparent evil. Everything. It’s the kind of thing that is difficult to understand if we are angry or in a hard moment, in the middle of “hurricane”, but calmly some epiphanies come up.

If you considered that ~100 years (an average of human being life) is absolutely nothing compared to space-time vastness (i.e.: like 2 minutes of 2 hours’ movie) and endless things to discover, then it gives an idea of the consciousness behind that satisfaction of being open to learn.

newyear_2016

(Lol). At this moment, my son is watching “Kung Fu Panda”. You know, this super cool movie of “The Dragon Master”. In the final fight, the villain is looking for a secret scroll, “The Dragon Scroll”. In the end, there is only an empty scroll which reflects the image of those who are reading (like a mirror), no written messages. The film’s message is “there is no special ingredient”. It’s up to us. We have to make it special. Isn’t it true? It reminds me a quote of Hatsumi Sensei “There is no way. Live!”. As we are all in the same “boat” in this vastness of space-time, it’s up to us to enjoy each of these delightful experiences of life. Together!

Kung Fu Panda (Filme). 2008.

Kung Fu Panda (Movie). 2008.

Fortunately, I was invited to spend the holidays in Dubai with my family & friends. It was very special! As usual, everyone knows that, whenever is possible, I visit local Bujinkan Dojo spread worldwide to learn more and meet buyu. This time, I had a surprise! Arnaud Dai Shihan was there teaching which I was not expecting. As always, it was great!

Obviously, I don’t remember every single detail. Therefore, any mistake, please, it’s up to me. But the goal here is to make some notes for further examination. If you really want to learn, you must go to teachers. You can read if you like, but transmission comes only through Shinden (Heart to Heart), and practice. He expanded our minds with some concepts. He started from the simple idea of observation before the attack 観測 (Kansoku), which also can be written as “slow” 緩速 (Kansoku).

Long time ago, in Rio de Janeiro, when I started at Bujinkan, I always asked myself why people always attack the way they attack. I mean, “Fudo Ken” (the most common punch of Budo Taijutsu) is not common for a real attack. Well, I was born in Rio de Janeiro, the 2nd most violent city of Brazil, and probably one of the most in the world. So, it’s is an important question. Mainly in “Togakure” way. Then, after all, of course, I realized that there are many things surrounding it. At that time, I thought this simple observation was enough to escape easily (Kansoku).

I see this as something natural. First observe, and then do something. Nowadays, we know that the sight sense processing is slower than the others, but things have to start somewhere. And Arnaud reinforced the idea of knowing the order of “processing” of sight sense. I also heard about it on Rob Renner Yushu Shihan researches of Shinnen Jutsu. You can do things the way you want, but know yourself, and know your opponents has its advantage. In addition, our body and mind (and for those who believe, everything else) has hidden awesome things. I believe it is important consider theses researches, but…

“There is no way. Live!”
– Hatsumi Soke.

This constant process of self-discovery is amazing, isn’t it? Human beings have so much hidden inside themselves!

Arnaud told us more about being open to opponents’ attack and an adequate response, a process that starts at a simple observation, observe it (look and see what’s going on), then evolve from that. Hence, 感覚 (Kankaku), meaning “feeling” or “feeling” emerges.

In a overview, this initial observation, makes us take some conclusions. These conclusions can be projections in the future, it is not necessarily what future is. It can be creations. Thus, it is necessary to avoid these conclusions, and not fall into a trap created by ourselves in space-time.

Arnaud also shared some stories of Noguchi Dai Shihan, and then introduced us the idea of “Fuyu” (“suspension point”) where Uke is caught by his own power. I don’t know a simple way to talk about it here, I need a sword and show, besides exercising the idea. Basically, when you target the Uke to a point where it is “suspended”, things are much easier on the counterattack. So, evolving, we were released to the point of “no think” 無心 (Mushin) and “no form” 無光 (Muko) as touted in Budo Taijutsu, where everyone wants to get.

Our dear students of Banpen Fugyō Bujinkan Dōjō in Fortaleza (Brazil) are organizing a Taikai with Arnaud Coursegue Dai Shihan there. It is an excellent opportunity to learn more, it’s his first time there, by the way. If you want to be part of this landmark, click on the image below and sign up! It’s gonna be awesome!

Shiro Kuma Zaikai 2016

Thank you friends of Bujinkan UAE for the excellent training!

武風一貫
(Bufu Ikkan)

Pedro Henrique
2016

